Teaching without paper

I can’t seem to find who posted the link, but I ended up at Teach Paperless yesterday.  It is an entire blog devoted to not using paper in the classroom.  He has a lot of interesting ideas as well as facts and figures.  If you are even remotely interested in what it might be costing your district to make all those copies and distribute them, not to mention the additional paper the students bring into the classroom, this blog is worth a read.

I have written about this before.  I use almost no paper in my classroom.  This semester, most everything is on the blog or wiki.  Last semester it was on WebCT.  Teaching this way is so much easier than lugging around stacks of papers. My students do have a composition book that they use to take notes in and do work in class, but one composition book will last them the whole year, probably.  (At least the less prolific writers!).  I am not opposed to paper and certainly do not forbid my students to print things out, but I prefer to do it all online. So do my students!

In a post called Why Do I Hate Paper, the blogger at Teach paperless says,

It’s not paper I’m against.

I’m against the static idea of knowledge that paper so often represents.

That’s not where the future is.

That post is a great place to start if you want to check out his blog!

Leave a Reply

