Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

I love my job!

I am back to teaching what I really love: adult ESL. I find that it really energizes me. Right now it is a lot of work; I have had to really shift gears. But it is getting easier.

One thing that I have to see, though, is how/if I am going to be able to incorporate technology in my classes. Right now it doesn’t look like it — although there is a computer lab that I could possibly arrange to use with some of them. There are some classes that could not use the lab because they meet off-site. Do I want to use the lab with some groups and not with others? This is something I am going to have to think through before I make a decision.

One thing I need to do is follow what Barry Bakin does with his adult ESL students. His students are about the same level as my most advanced group. And I need to look for other adult ESL instructors using the Internet. This is all part of my shifting gears. It’s fun!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “I love my job!

  1. Hi Nancy!

    Congratulations on the new job! It sounds terrific for you. They are lucky to get you. I hope you will try using technology with some of your students even if you can’t do it with all. Have you seen Aaron’s article at http://e-poche.net/flickr where he shares ways to use Flickr in language classes?

    You have been in my thoughts a lot and I wish you a great learning journey.

    Best,
    Anne

Leave a Reply

