Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

In praise of Knoppix Live CDs

At 7:15 am today I was frantically downloading Knoppix to create a live CD. After I got it, I stuck the disk in my son-in-law’s dead computer. It booted right up in Knoppix. After mounting the hard drive, I was able to access his files. We put the ones he needs right now on a thumb drive and transferred them to another computer. Over the weekend I hope to get all his files off the machine. He was good to go when I went to work at 8:45.

If you don’t have Knoppix Live CD, get one! It can save you. And it gives you a chance to try Linux, too. You just might find that you like it.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “In praise of Knoppix Live CDs

  1. Nancy, thanks for sharing your tale of Knoppix and your daring rescue! (wink). I’ve written here:
    http://www.mguhlin.net/archives/2007/12/entry_3990.htm

    just a bit.

    Thanks,
    Miguel

Leave a Reply

