Using social media with my classes

I have been thinking a lot about my classes this fall and about how or even if I want to integrate the use of social media.  At first I thought that I would use blogs and such, but then I decided not to this semester.  Now I am not so sure.  I think that I want to, at the very least, use delicious.

In these courses we will be accessing a large number of articles that are located online.  It will make my life easier to have them available in one place.  I think it will also make the students’ lives easier if they can go to one site and see them all.  As the semester progresses, students will be locating their own texts, and delicious will allow them to make the texts available to each other for group work.

Once I have used delicious, I think it will be easier to integrate other tools next semester or maybe even later this semester.  We’ll see how it goes.

Update:  Here’s the link to the delicious account I set up for the classes.  It isn’t populated with all the texts they will use yet, but I have at least started it.  We’ll see how useful it is to me and to the students.

Leave a Reply

