Writing with my students

One of the things I am doing this semester with my students is a lot of writing.  I know; I always do a lot of writing in my classes, but this year is a little different.  In the SLWP Advanced Institute this past summer, we talked about using journals in a variety of ways, and that is what I am trying to do.  The comment was made in the institute that putting writing at the center of the curriculum really means you are putting students at the center.  At the time, I wasn’t sure I understood that, but I hope to understand it better as we move through the semester.

The hardest thing so far has been explaining to my students that, yes, I really do want them to have a different composition book for each class they have with me and, yes, It does need to have more than 25 pages in it.

Once I get past this first couple weeks of classes and once I have internet at home so I can write at 3am if I feel like it, I will be discussing a lot of what I am doing, what seems to work and what doesn’t.  I am really excited to be back in this kind of academic environment.

Leave a Reply

