Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

Publishing

My position at ENMU is tenure track.  As part of the deal, of course, I have to publish.  This is a little difficult for me on two fronts.  One, they want refereed journals and research-type articles while most of my writing and publications have been more practice oriented.  The other problem is that for several years now, most of my writing has been done here on my blog.  I like writing here.  I am comfortable writing here.  And I have fun writing here.  But I wonder how to combine this writing with what I need to do for my job.

I have a tendency to think of this as where I would work through my ideas, maybe find what I want to write about.  But if I write about it here, how do I take it up a notch to be ready to publish elsewhere?  I know lots of people maintain blogs much more actively than I do and still publish, but I am not sure how to do it.  It is going to be a challenge for me to figure out.  But I want to do it.  And somehow, I will.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Publishing

  1. I can picture you sitting back, taking your pen and writing away. Remember having coffee and writing in the coffee shop there in Covington? Write about what you know. If I can be of any help, just hollar!

  2. Pingback: The power of writing with friends « Random Thoughts

Leave a Reply

