Orwell’s Diaries

In a comment on my earlier post about Orwell’s 1984, Lesley said she is reading Orwells’s diaries in blog form.  I think I might have heard about this before, but I had never checked it out until Lesley mentioned it.  And now I am reading the diaries, too.

There is an introductory post that talks about the diaries, the two basic types: personal and political.  In the personal entries he writes about the weather, plants, preserving fruit, and finding snakes.  These aren’t topics I would imagine Orwell writing about, and the very fact that the topics are so ordinary makes the posts interesting.    I look forward to continuing to read and learn more about Orwell through his diaries.  If you haven’t checked them out, I would recommend that you do.

Leave a Reply

