Another way to look at teaching behind the wall

Thanks to Stephen’s OLDaily, I found a link to David Wiley in effect comparing Facebook to Blackboard It reinforced what I have been thinking about lately and what I wrote about a couple days ago:  teaching in a closed system is not the way to go.  It is not the way I want to go, at least.  I don’t know that I want to go the Facebook route, but I definitely want to use more open sites.

As I wrote that, though, I asked myself if I would really want just anybody participating on our wiki.  I am not sure.  That’s why I added the “more” in front of “open”.  Of course, people can read it even if they can’t add content.  That makes it more open than Blackboard or WebCT.  And if we add blogs into the equation, we are becoming even more open.  Or am I just rationalizing?

Leave a Reply

