The schools we need

I’m sure you’ve already seen it, but if you haven’t, you have to look at Chris Lehman’s presentation at IgnitePhilly.  His slides are available here.

I first read about this over at Assorted Stuff because that blog is ahead of Chris’s in my bloglines account.  I’m glad I did, though, because Tim picked out what, to him, was the most important idea in Chris’s presentation.  It was this:

How is it that we have so many passionate dedicated educators and so many really failing schools? The problem is, that you put a good person in a bad system, the system wins too often. We need to change the system.

I agree that this is a vital question to ask and that the answer is the only one that makes sense.

For me, though, there were a couple other things that I really liked:

Nothing will ever hold me more accountable as an educator  than I hold myself responsible for the kids in my charge.

We need to remember that we teach kids before we teach subjects.

And regarding our fascination with tests…

It’s recall-based learning, and in the age of Google, it is just absolutely obsolete.

Please check Chris’s presentation out.  It is worth your time.

2 thoughts on “The schools we need

Leave a Reply

