Comments on comments

I have received a couple comments lately that I want to respond to.  The first was from Patrick Higgins on my post about teaching writing.  He asked if I grade blog posts.  When I have had students blog, I have counted numbers of posts or whether or not they posted the log on the day it was their responsibility to do so.  I haven’t really ever graded the quality of their posts.  I suppose part of the reason was that I didn’t want to make blogging just another graded activity.  And I was hoping that they would try to do a good job of writing when they posted to the blog.  That wasn’t always the case, but I am OK with that.  For me, student blogging is about increasing the amount of writing they do and the frequency with which they write.  It is stressful enough for my students to write and more stressful for them to write in public; I wouldn’t want to add to it by making them worry about the grade it will receive.  I am not sure if my reasoning has been good or not, but that is how I have done it.  And I think it is how I will do it next time, too.

And on a totally different note, Angie asked about the symbols I used to illustrate the pronunciation of andragogy.  That was IPA pronunciation courtesy of dictionary.com.  They offer both a spelled pronunciation and IPA pronunciation.  I had to learn IPA when I was in grad school and, at the time, felt it was more trouble than it was worth.  Since then, of course, it has been quite valuable.  For more on IPA (International Phonetic Alphabet) you can check out this entry on Wikipedia.

One thought on “Comments on comments

  1. edbooked says:

    I’ve noticed students failing computer compentency tests because they do not comprehend the questions asked. Literacy is critical to future learning. Sadly, the public school system in America fails enrolled students on a number of issues. The potential, challenges, and obstacles that currently litter the public education landscape are discussed in the novel, The Twilight’s Last Gleaming On Public Education. This intriguing, socially relevant,and enlightening story possesses many of the elements commonly found in just about every school system throughout the United States. It is availabale via http://www.Xlibris.com, http://www.bn.com. http://www.borders.com, or www. amazon.com. This is must reading for every parents and grandparent of school aged children. Check it out for youself. Discuss it with your friends. See if you can identify with the characters and situations presented. Do you agree with the proposed solutions?

Leave a Reply

