Did you hear?

D’Arcy Norman has deleted his twitter account.  I found it pretty interesting.

I have tried Twitter, but I have to admit that I have never been able to get it.  But I always felt that there must be something wrong with me.  I know part of it has to just be me and my personality.  I am not one of those real chatty people you run into from time to time.  I also have never been able to think that my life was so interesting that other people would want to know about it on a minute by minute basis.

I had never, though, thought about it to the degree that D’Arcy has.  He said:

I keep coming back to one thing. Who is paying for twitter, and why? It’s not advertising. At least Facebook is clearly partially financed by advertising revenue.

The only value I see in twitter, from a financial point of view, that even comes close to justifying the expense if providing the service, is to teach The Machine. The constant tweeting, linking, geopositioning updates are providing a vast database which can then be mined. But why, and by whom?

That kind of Big Brother idea is a little creepy.  But that doesn’t mean it isn’t true.

One thought on “Did you hear?

  1. Angie says:

    So far, Twitter is giving me a way to track my son who is in web development. He tweets because his industry co-workers do. Once or twice, it even came in handy because the text messaging our chat accounts got messed up. I wish my daughter in France would use Twitter, it would be much cheaper than a foreign text message. Other than that, it is uninteresting.

Leave a Reply

