Tech Tools for Learning

Jane’s list of the top 100 tech tools for learning is out.  It is interesting to me to see the changes from last year and from the spring of this year.

Some things surprise me, like the fact that Second Life, which was 101 in 2007 and soared to position 41 in the spring of this year, was down to 54 in this list.  I wonder if that is because it is going out of fashion or because the respondents this time just weren’t into Second Life.

I was happy to see that delicious and Firefox are still up there at the top of the list.

I have a bone or two to pick with her information, like not including the fact that there is a Linux version of Skype available (and there has been for years!).

PowerPoint was the only Microsoft application in the top ten.  I am not sure why it is still there when there are so many other options. Internet Explorer was down to 83 this time around!

In general, wikis seem to be losing popularity, or at least going down in the rankings.

It is an interesting list.  I am not sure I am going to rush out there and try any of the tools I am not currently using, but you never know!

Leave a Reply

