Learning to be visual

I have talked before about my feelings of not being creative.  As I was walking to work this morning and passed the tree that I took a picture of the other day, I started wondering if I maybe really AM not creative.  If that is true, I am sure it is because I never developed that part of my brain rather than some congenital condition.

What I know is that I am not a visual person.  I really think that even when I see things, I see them as words and not as pictures.  Is that crazy?  That tree today was twisted and bent.  It didn’t speak to me in the same way that it did the day I took the picture of it.

But I want to be a visual person.  I want to see things and respond in non-verbal ways.

This is something I have been working on and thinking about for a couple days.  For the EVO sessions I am supposed to be working on this year (And I do mean “supposed to be” because I have done almost nothing!) I was working on an online portfolio.

You may or may not know tht I have an online portfolio.  It is nice and neat and filled with words.  But I wanted something visual, something more dynamic.  I have not really come up with anything that I like, but I have come up with something different.  Yesterday I added the flakes that at least make the online parts of my portfolio come alive a little more.  Today, after I read Jane’s post about Lovely Charts, I created and added the chart. This is still not toally what I was looking for, but it is getting there.

But this brings me back to the idea of learning to be visual.  I wonder why I don’t seem to see images.  To me, it explains why I cannot really take good pictures and why everything in my life is very word-oriented.

Does this make any sense?

4 thoughts on “Learning to be visual

  1. Angie says:

    As much as you want to visual, I want to be more word-orientated. Why? Because word-orientated thinkers seem to be more critical. They seem to catch those little things that make a big difference. When someone gives me directions, I have to visually see taking the turns to remember them. This is not very efficient and causes me to miss the next set of directions! I can spend hours manipulating objects for a flyer or card; another time waster.

    Let us know how you progress and share some good tips on how we can be more word-orientated!

  2. Charles says:

    I’ve never quite understood why people say they’re not visual. Our brains are hard-wired for vision. If someone has a preference for a certain way of “seeing,” then that’s something that has been learned through experience, which means other preferences can be learned, too.

  3. Nancy McKeand says:

    I agree, Charles. That is what I am trying to work on. Like all habits, it is harder to get established now than it probably would have been when I was younger.

    But I wonder what led me down the wordy path? Was it a natural inclination or really something I was taught or a combination of the two?

Leave a Reply

