Who am I and what am I doing here?

In a recent comment, Craig wrote about how his blog had changed as he had changed over the years.  If you are not familiar with Teacher Dude’s  Grill and BBQ, you should really check it out.  It is a combination photo album/EFL lessons/political activism/movie site.  And it is really more than that.  But that gives you an idea…

My blog is nothing like Craig’s.  In some ways I don’t have as much focus as he does.  My blog, like my mind, rambles.   But like Craig’s, I think this blog has changed as I have changed.

Four years  ago, when I was a new blogger, I was a much more hesitant person, much less sure of myself, much more reluctant to express an opinion or take a chance.  Gradually, I have learned to express opinions.  Usually no one comments — either because no one is reading or because my opinions are too silly to comment on.  But I don’t care.  I am learning to speak my mind.  I have also learned that I can take a picture and post it to my blog.  It isn’t  a   great picture usually, not like Craig’s are, but it is a photograph that means something to me.  So I am happy.

Looking at my blog, it seems to me that what I am doing here is documenting who I am and who I am becoming.  It isn’t exciting or all that interesting, but to me it is valuable.   And I guess that is why I keep coming back.

One thought on “Who am I and what am I doing here?

  1. Craig says:

    Thank you for mentioning me Nancy. I think for most of us blogging has been a way to express ourselves and so helps us find our own voice. I have found the experience very empowering and through it I have learnt so many different skills. This is why I think that blogs are such a wonderful learning tool for our students.

Leave a Reply

