What Higher Ed can learn from TED

A post over at Inside Higher Ed by Joshua Kim explains why Higher Ed would benefit from the TED approach to knowledge and sharing knowledge.

Kim mentions that these talks can guide educators as to

the optimal length, timing, pace and content of the lecture

TED talks are always very interesting.  The content is engaging.  The presentation is inviting.  I hadn’t really thought about this before since I seldom lecture, but I think I will go back and look at some of the talks to examine the format of the lectures.  It is good information to have.

Kim, though, goes on to discuss even more important things that can be learned from TED talks.  They concern access.  TED talks are released under a Creative Commons license.  Kim discusses the actual license that they use, and I won’t go into it here, but he makes the comment that using this license

strikes a good balance between facilitating the diffusion of the content while protecting the integrity of the narrative.

The second point Kim makes the point that TED talks are made available in a variety of formats and from a number of sources.  He talks of listening to talk on his iPod and suggests that students would like to listen to our content on mobile devices as well.  He says

I strongly suspect that our students will grow accustomed to and prefer media that can be consumed on mobile devices (I know I have!).

There is, as Kim says, much that Higher Ed can learn from TED.  I don’t see it happening on an institutional level at my institution, though.  So all I can do is open my own content up as much as I can.  It is something that our current technological disasters are encouraging me to do, anyway.  So now I just need to really sit down and do something about it!

One thought on “What Higher Ed can learn from TED

  1. Angie says:

    I love TED! Not really able to use it with my current position (K-4) but used it with my 7-8 graders. I can see where getting an older student hooked on TED would be a best educational practice!

Leave a Reply

