Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

Reading Hemingway

For some reason, I have always resisted reading Hemingway.  Recently, though, I read A Farewell to Arms and enjoyed it.  Then I read The Sun Also Rises, and I found myself really liking it.  Now I am reading A Moveable Feast, and I am hooked!

While A Moveable Feast is billed as a memoir, it is a great book about writing.  I find myself wanting to underline passages all through it that deal with his approach to writing, but I can’t because I am reading a copy I got from the library.  Guess I will have to invest in my own copy!

Why is it that we put off reading some books and some authors?  I know, for me, part of it is not wanting to read what other people are reading.  I have had so many people tell me what a great book it is that I didn’t want to pick it up.  But now that I have, I can hardly put it down.

I am planning to read a lot of books about writing this year because it is a topic I am very interested in.  A Moveable Feast was a good book to start with, I think.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

