Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

It’s frustrating!

I was trying to figure out why one of my classes had NO students registered for it, so I decided I would go through all 28 students I tested in December and see who was missing.  I knew 2 students had tested out of ESL.  That left 26 who should be registered for at least one class.  I knew some had not registered at all yet, so I planned to send them an email to remind them to get busy.  What surprised me — for some unknown, ridiculous reason– was that twelve students had registered for classes and conveniently forgotten to register for ESL or to register for the total number of hours they are required to take.

And that is my frustration.  There is no mechanism in place to ensure that they take the ESL they need.  I test them and inform them.  The Vice President for Academic Affairs signs a letter confirming what I have told them.   I inform their advisors.  And then they do what they want.

So I emailed everyone today to remind them that they need to take ESL.  I will give it a day or two before I contact my chair and then my dean and then the Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs.  And some of them still won’t do it.

There has to be a better way!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

