Switching gears

Up through Tuesday evening I was holding out hope that Moodle would be up and running in time to start the semester with it.  (We have permission to sue Moodle but they won’t let the server housing it access the internet!  Hopefully that will change soon.)  So yesterday morning I had to scuffle to figure out how I was going to handle the quizzes and answers to homework that I was going to post to Moodle.  I already had the courses basically set up on a wiki, so what I ended up doing was creating pages for the answers to be posted and another for the quizzes.  I am only going to post them for the time that students have to check their answers and take the quiz, and then I will take them down and later post the next answers and quiz.  It isn’t a perfect system, but I think it will work.

I could, of course, have used Blackboard.  I looked at it and even posted my syllabi there.  But I really don’t want to do that.  I will give Moodle a couple weeks and, if we still can’t use it then, will just continue with what is already in place. If it works that long, why not stick with it?

My students have started posting to their blogs.  You can find the list here, if you are interested.

Leave a Reply

