Books

I got a comment on my post about going to the library asking about the kinds of books that I get.  I have been keeping a list of the books I am reading this year that can give you an idea. Of the books on that list, I got twelve of them from the local library — the young adult books, the science fiction, and several others.

I buy my books second (or third or fourth) hand at Goodwill or other places like that.  Our library has a room where they sell books, too.  But I still spend too much on books!  Last time we went to Goodwill, we spent over $ 30 on books!

15 thoughts on “Books

  1. violet.incas says:

    I read your list of books and thought you might enjoy reading some Agatha Christie mysteries. She is considered one of the best mystery writers of all time and I particularly like “And Then There Were None.”

  2. Socialpaws says:

    I would love to hear about your thoughts on some of those books you mention in your list, I can only say that I’ve read the Stephen King: On writing book in that list. Very good it is too, I am more into contemporary fiction or historical fiction as a personal choice though, but finding the time for reading seems to get more difficult as the family expands.
    Best,
    SP

  3. catnewleaf says:

    I always enjoy a M. Atwood poem or novel. Your book list is very interesting. I think book buying is an addictive activity. Our library has book sales I think I have enough now to read for at least a year and not set foot in a bookstore/library. And yet I go . . .

    • Nancy McKeand says:

      I know what you mean! I got more used books on Saturday, and I don’t know when I will get around to reading them! Oh well… It’s fun and relatively inexpensive, so why not?

  4. BooksandBeginnings says:

    I’m so much the same! I can’t resist buying books. As much as I love the library, it’s just so nice to actually look at my own bookcase full of books. And I love to be able take home a book that’s either brand new or has been well loved and keep it forever 🙂

  5. Ever Faithful Reader says:

    Second hand books are always the best.

    Personally, I think charity shops are the best places to get books: they’re the only places you find literary classics next to really good recent books! And of course, the money goes to charity, so no worrying there…

    • Nancy McKeand says:

      I agree! I tend to shop first at the places that sell the books cheapest! That usually means Goodwill or salvation Army or my local thrift shop. Buying there is a good deal for everyone!

Leave a Reply

