Linux on my Dell Mini 12… and on my very first laptop

Although I haven’t written about it in a long time, I am still using Linux exclusively on my personal computers.  Aa little over a year agoI got a Dell Mini 12 that came with Ubuntu 8.04 on it.  I loved the machine, but I didn’t like being tied to the Dell  version of Ubuntu.  Everything I read told me I wouldn’t be able to get other Ubuntu versions to work on it.  When 10.04 was in Beta, however, my husband suggested I give it a try.  Lo and behold, it worked perfectly!   I  ran it for a month or so before installing Ubuntu Netbook Edition 10.04,  which I am pretty happy with.  Even with a “big” 12″ screen, the netbook adaptations are nice ones.

We also decided to set up a computer to run the printer through.  (With Ubuntu we can print to it wirelessly from any computer in the house.)   We dug out my very first laptop – a Compaq Presario 705US.   It has a 20 G hard drive.  The hinges don’t work, so the screen has to lean back against something to keep it open.  When we  turned it on, we discovered that my husband had put a beta version of Ubuntu 6.06, I think it was  – Dapper Drake.  We had to go through a rather convoluted series of upgrades  but ended up with Ubuntu 10.04 on it, too.  The printer runs perfectly through it – freeing up both my laptop and my husband’s.

I know I’ve said it before, but I would really advise you to check Ubuntu out.  If you tried it in the past, you will be amazed at how much easier everything is with the newer versions.  And you can put it on an old machine that is totally worthless with Windows on it and get years of use out of the computer.  It can save you money and it puts you in control of your computing.  I can’t recommend it enough!

Leave a Reply

