Creating cloze tests

Bill Boyd had a post about a tool I wasn’t familiar with, Cloze test creator.   I may have actually heard about it before, but the time wasn’t right, I guess, and it only just now sunk in!

If you are not familiar with cloze tests, they  are a  gap-fill activity where words are removed from a text.  You can remove every  7th word, for instance, or you can remove a particular type of  word (articles, prepositions, etc.)

This post so far with every 9th word removed looks like this:

Bill Boyd had a post about a ____ I wasn’t familiar with, Cloze test creator. I may have actually heard about it before, ___ the time wasn’t right, I guess, and it ____ just now sunk in!

If you ___ not familiar with cloze tests, they are _ gap-fill activity where words are removed from _ text. You can remove every 7th word, ___ instance, or you can remove a particular type __ word (articles, prepositions, etc.)

You  have always been able to do this manually, of course, but this tool makes it simple: paste the text in the box, click the button for what you want removed and hit “Submit Query”.

You can set it up to give  the wordlist or not.  It can be interactive or  just the text.

I am really going to be using this tool in the fall as I work on improving my academic reading and writing class.  I think it could be very valuable!

Thanks again, Bill!

2 thoughts on “Creating cloze tests

  1. Nancy,
    Thanks for sharing this with your network, and glad that I was able to bring it to your attention. Have you discovered the power of Twitter yet for disseminating ideas and links? Follow me at @literacyadviser and I will reciprocate.

    Best wishes
    Bill

Leave a Reply

