Leaving Blackboard — again

I have been working on my classes for the fall, and I have decided NOT to use Blackboard.  Well, actually, I will use Blackboard to post students grades and to link to the websites we will use.  But otherwise, we will be working from the wiki and posting to blogs.  I will use my classroom blog as the portal to the student blogs.  I think it will work pretty well.

At the present time, I have one class that was halfway set up on Blackboard before I made this decision.  I am not sure if I am going to go back there and finish it or if I am going to continue with the wiki/blog plan for all my courses.  Even though I have spent so much time working on that course, it is a long way from finished.  And I don’t like it.  So I have reasons to abandon its current incarnation.  But I am not sure if I want to give up all that time I have invested.

I have some extra time to work on this since my summer class was canceled.  And, of course, at the rate things are going, I may not have any students for the fall, either, so this may all be an exercise in futility!  Oh well…

One thought on “Leaving Blackboard — again

  1. coffeepearlsgrace says:

    As a recent graduate (one year ago), I can honestly say that Blackboard is a pain. I used it for classes as well as research projects throughout a graduate assistantship, and I have been SO thrilled to not have to revisit those sites since I graduated. Wiki’s and classroom blogs are so much more useful, engaging, and effective. I think your students will appreciate this decision as much as you do! Just wanted to offer a little support for you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

