Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

July Reading

In July I appear to have read a lot of books:

  1. Teaching the New Writing edited by  A. Herrington,  K. Hodgson and  C. Moran
  2. The New Moon’s Arms by Nalo  Hopkinson
  3. Gentlemen of the Road by Michael Chabon
  4. American Fuji by Sara Backer
  5. The Plot Thickens: 8 Ways to Bring Fiction to Life by Noah Lukeman
  6. Code of the Samurai translated by Thomas Cleary
  7. The Sunday Philosophy Club by Alexander McCall Smith
  8. This Body of Death by Elizabeth George

Actually, I started the first two in June, so it isn’t all that spectacular!

These books were largely by authors I read a lot: Elizabeth George, Michael Chabon, Alexander McCall Smith, and Nalo Hopkinson.  I am predisposed to like anything by them.  I was not disappointed.

In the case of the Hopkinson book, I have to say it is the best one by her I have read.  Part of that may be that it is about a middle-aged woman who finds she is still in the process of becoming.  I truly enjoyed this one!

The Chabon book was short and crazy but a lot of fun.  It is unlike anything of his that I have read before.

Probably the book I enjoyed most out of all of these was American Fuji.  It is the story of an American woman who lives in Japan.  Although I have not lived in Japan, many of her experiences could have happened in some of the countries I have lived in.  One of the blurbs on the cover refers to Japan as one of the characters in the book, and it really is.

A couple of these books were to help with the novel my son and I are writing.  You can probably tell which ones!

All in all, it was a good month.  Since my summer classes were canceled, I had plenty of time.  Let’s see how August goes!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “July Reading

  1. Hi Nancy!
    I happened to stumble across your blog, and I love that you have sections just for the books you read! I’m a big fan of classics – I was just wondering what you’re thoughts were on them. I like Jane Austen, the Bronte sisters, etc.
    Do you think if I like those books than the ones that you read during the summer would be appealing too?
    nivi

    • It’s really hard for me to say. I love the Brontes and Austen, and I like most of the books I have been reading. So I guess I would tell you to give one of them a try and see!

Leave a Reply

