September and October Reading

It’s been a couple months now since I posted my reading, so there is a pretty decent-sized list this time.

  1. Worlds Asunder by Kirt Hickman
  2. Keys to Great Writing by Stephen Wilbers
  3. Someone Comes to Town, Someone Leaves Town by Cory Doctorow
  4. The Maltese Falcon by Dashiell Hammett
  5. The New Space Opera edited by Gardner Dozois and Jonathan Strahan
  6. An Ice Cold Grave by Charlaine Harris
  7. The Dark Tide by Andrew Gross
  8. Jumper by Steven Gould
  9. Princess of Mars by Edgar Rice Burroughs
  10. The Private Patient by PD James
  11. Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning

I read a number of science fiction books this time.  Jumper was really my favorite, I think.  I have met Steven Gould at the Jack Williamson Lectureships and always told myself I should read the book, but I never had until  October.  It was definitely worth it.

Another interesting one, by another author I have met,  is Worlds Asunder by Kirt Hickman. I met and talked with Kirt at Bubonicon in August.  It was an interesting book.  I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is interested in science fiction.

The New Space Opera was a collection of short stories in a more classic kind of science fiction – big adventures that take place in outer space.  I enjoyed it a lot, although it was really long and I should have broken it up and read something else in the middle.

Princess of Mars is one I read because I found it on io9 in a book list for novice scifi readers.  While I am not really a novice, I decided I wanted to read more intelligently in the genre, and I have started reading the books on the list I hadn’t read before — or at least representative books from it.  I read this one electronically.

I also read another Cory Doctorow title: Someone Comes to Town, Someone Leaves Town.  It was more different than other Doctorow titles I’ve read, but I thought it was interesting.  I sometimes found myself reading this book more as a writer than a reader, really.  I spent a lot of time trying to figure out how he could have come up with the story!

Ice Cold Grave and Darkfever, by Charlaine Harris and Karen Marie Moning, respectively, were not really science fiction but they were paranormal stories.  Harris is an author whose work I obviously enjoy.  This was my first Moning book, but I am about a third of the way through the second one in the series already!

I had never read The Maltese Falcoln and probably never would have except that it was the book used for Roswell Reads this year.  It was OK.  I have never seen the movie, so I had nothing to compare it to.  I think I would have enjoyed it more if I had been more involved in the discussion that took place in Roswell and online on the blog.

There were two mysteries: Dark Tide and The Private Patient. Cross was a new author for me, and I found I really enjoyed the book.  PD James’ Adam Dalgliesh mysteries are always intelligent, and I really look froward to reading them.

That leaves the writing book by Wilbers.  I have to admit that I don’t remember a lot about it.  At the time, it seemed OK.  There was maybe a little too much repetition for my taste, though.  That could be because I knew most of what he was telling us. Or at least I knew about it.  I can’t say that I really practice it all.

It was a good couple months.  I am not going to make 100 books this year, but I am doing better than last year.  I am still going to try, though!

 

Leave a Reply

