I am miscast!

Dad Dean over at Inside Higher Ed has an interesting post about people who are miscast in their current positions.  He is talking about people in staff positions primarily but goes on to talk about professors who are miscast as department chairs as well.

This really struck a chord with me because I have realized that I am miscast in my current position.  I do not belong here.  I know that.  Some people even agree with me on that!

While I am doing a decent job here, maybe even a good one, I am not happy.  This is not what I want to be doing for the rest of my life.  The problem is that I don’t know for sure what I want to be doing.

Dad Dean didn’t talk about how to solve these casting problems, as the first commenter pointed out.  I wish he had.  It might give me some ideas about how to proceed with my own life.    It would be easy if I were independently wealthy or if the job market were different right now.  But I am not and it isn’t.  I don’t have much to work with here.  But I am determined to find the right role for myself.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

