What the future holds

I used to think that someday my life would settle down, that the way would be made plain and path made smooth.  Someday I would live happily ever after.

Guess what?  I’m 60 and I haven’t gotten there yet!  Chances are pretty good that they never will.

And that’s OK.  I have done a lot more in my life than I ever thought I would.  I’ve been married almost 39 years to the same guy.  I have a wonderful, supportive family.   I’ve lived in a number of different countries.  I have taught some wonderful students.  I wouldn’t trade any of it.  But now I find myself trying to see what the future holds for me.  I don’t want to continue along the career path I have been on for the last decade.  The question has become what I want to do now.

It’s an interesting time for me.  I am not worried yet.  I am trying to see what doors open.  My son and I have almost finished the last major revision of the novel we are writing. I would love for it to sell, but there are no guarantees.  I would love a job that would allow me to travel – preferably overseas –  but so would lots of other people.  I am pursuing at options and keeping my fingers crossed that one of them will work out.

It’s scary, but it is also fun.  I will let you know how it all turns out.

Leave a Reply

