November Reading

In November I read a few books:

  1. Bloodfever by Karen Marie Moning
  2. Floating in My Mother’s Palm by Ursula Hegi
  3. Retro Spec: Tales of Fantasy and Nostalgia edited by Karen A. Romanko
  4. Dreamfever by Karen Marie Moning
  5. Breakthroughs: Classroom Discoveries About Teaching Writing edited by Amy Bauman and Art Peterson
  6. The Girl Who Married a Lion and Other Tales from Africa by Alexander McCall Smith

The Moning books are the most recent in her Fever series about… Well, I am not sure how to describe it.  I have been totally captivated by these books.  When I returned Dreamfever to the friend who loaned it to me, I told her I was so mad!  She laughed and said, “I told you it was a cliff hanger!”  The next installment won’t be out until January, and we are trying to be patient.  These books definitely aren’t for everyone, but I am really enjoying the series.

Ursula Hegi wrote Stones From the River, which I read a couple years ago.  Floating in My Mother’s Palm is similar in some ways, and even features Trudi Montag, the main character in Stones. I enjoyed the book.  This isn’t the kind of book I usually read, but it was interesting.  If you read Stones From the River, you would probably enjoy this book.

I read two short story collections, Retro Spec and The Girl Who Married a LionRetro Spec was speculative fiction / nostalgia.  It was fun.  I especially enjoyed one about hula hoops.  There are poems as well as short stories in the collection, so it is pretty interesting as a collection as well as having interesting content.  The Girl Who Married a Lion was, as the last part of the title states, a collection of folk tales.  I don’t usually go in much for folk tales, but these were fun.

I also read Breakthroughs: Classroom Discoveries About Teaching Writing.  I thought it was wonderful.  It made me rethink some of the things I had planned for next semester.  I read it while I was on the way back from Orlando and came up with some ideas to try this semester even.  If you are interested in teaching using writing, I highly recommend it.

So now I am down to one month remaining in the year.  I am not going to reach my goal of 100 books, I’m afraid.  But I am having a lot of fun trying.

Leave a Reply

