A wasted day?

Yesterday was beautiful:  sunny, in the low 70s, not too windy.  My husband and I both said we should go outside and do something.  And neither of us did.   Instead, we spent the day working on our computers.  But I don’t regret it for a minute.

I got a new laptop, a Toshiba Portege r705, and I had to get Linux set up on it.  For a variety of reasons, I wanted to try something other than Ubuntu, and it took a while to find the distro that worked with my hardware.  In the end, I ended up with Fedora 14, and I am quite happy with it.  I have never used Fedora before, so there was a little bit of a learning curve, but it wasn’t bad.

My husband, who got my “old” Lenovo (Don’t feel too bad for him.  It is only about 7 months old and it is the computer he told me was perfect and I had to buy it. Unfortunately, I never really liked it.  He does.), spent the day making the machine his own. It had Ubuntu 10.10 on it, but he, too wanted to move away from Ubuntu.  It took a little playing around, but he got Mint Debian up and running on it. That’s what he has on his old machine, and he really likes it.

So today, when it is cold and damp (34 F and 81% humidity), we are happily playing away on our computers, unhampered by the glitches that plagued us yesterday!

Was it a wasted day?  I don’t think so.  It made the upcoming days a lot more pleasant and productive.

Leave a Reply

