I have failed at so many things!

In his post on Inside Higher Ed today, Joshua Kin asks:

When have you failed good software?

My answer would have to include at least twitter and Facebook.  I just don’t get them.  Other people seem to live by them, but  I cannot seem to see how they would really benefit me.  I have written about these failings before, speculating that I am just too private a person for such public venues.  But I don’t know if that is the case or not really.  What I do know is that I prefer the more extended format of a blog over a 140 character tweet to express myself in.

In summarizing his failure, Joshua says:

My biggest realization during this failed Basecamp experiment is that nobody really wants to see my To Do list. I thought we’d all share our lists, add things to each others lists, and basically create a system where we could easily tell what we are all up to. The reality turned out to be that everyone is too busy to look at each others work lives, and it is much more efficient to walk down the hall and have a chat.

That is pretty much how I feel about twitter and Facebook.  Nobody really wants to see what I am doing.  And if they want to see what I am thinking, they will stop by here for a conversation.

I am a failure, I know.  In an effort to change that I will continue to see if I can discover the value in those tools for me, but I am not holding my breath.

Leave a Reply

