Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

An interesting idea that I don’t want to forget, so I am writing it here

If my writing Portales friends are reading this, they will recognize that line.  I seem o be doing a lot of that lately, don’t I?

I was reading at Liberty Falls Down about her writing workshop word hunt and her choice of the word freedom.  She talks a little about this and then says:

As with last week, I’m interpreting this in a fictional way, using my reccuring characters from my short story series…

And all I could think was DUH!  It seems to me that this would be a great ongoing writing activity. See what you  think:  Develop a character in your initial writing session.  Then each week/day/month/whatever, write to a prompt using that character as part of it.  Or if, like me, you have a set of characters, just use the prompts either to explore the ideas from their points of view or as parts of the story featuring one or more of the characters.

Not very clear, is it?

Let’s see … If I take her word, freedom, I would at this particular point in Book 2, use it in conjunction with a character who is going to become one of the bad guys soon.   He is experiencing a freedom he never had before, having left his village and moved to the castle.   At the very least, I could get some good back story on the character and, quite possibly, some material to move the story along.

This is probably a very well-known approach, but I never thought of it before.  I have been looking for a way to connect my writing practice to my writing, and this seems like it would do the trick.  I have done it by accident on occasion, and it has been a wonderful experience.  I think it would require carefully chosen but then randomized prompts.  Not sure, though.  I guess concepts seem easier  than things, and yet the first time I did this, it was with the location porch.

I think this could be a way to encourage some people I know who do a lot of writing to prompts but don’t move beyond that much.  It wouldn’t be asking them to write short stories or novels, but it would give them a lot of material about a character or group of characters. It could be impetus to branch out and try something new.

I’ll have to give this some more thought.  Does anyone have any ideas to add?

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “An interesting idea that I don’t want to forget, so I am writing it here

  1. Thanks for stopping by, and I’m glad you found inspiration in my post. I’d love to do more of these prompt word posts – the writing workshop I do is a fortnightly and not a specifically fictional one. Would be great to reach a network of other writers using the word prompt for purely fiction writing purposes. Perhaps there’s an idea for a new meme in there!

    I find writing short little stories with no real plan or guidance besides the word prompt is quite exciting. It lets you explore the characters and their situations in a very free and creative way. It’s great for keeping up with writing practice without the pressures of trying to keep up the momentum of a full novel, and sometimes you learn something about the characters or their world that you didn’t know before.

Leave a Reply

