January Reading

Well, I just finished a book, and the one I began last week is barely started, so I guess this is my January reading list:

  1. Wizard’s First Rule by Terry Goodkind  (820 pages – finished 1/5/11)
  2. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson (590 pages – finished 1/8/11)
  3. Across the Wire: Life and Hard Times on the Mexican Border by Luis Alberto Urrea (190 pages – finished 1/11/11)
  4. Dark Paradise by Tami Hoag  (528 pages – finished 1/15/11)
  5. The Boleyn Inheritance by Philippa Gregory (518 pages – finished 1/21/11)
  6. Shadowfever by Karen Marie Moning (594 pages – finished 1/24/11)
  7. The Journey: A Spiritual Roadmap For Modern Pilgrims by Peter Kreeft (128  pages – finished 1/27/11)
  8. A Firing Offense by David Ignatius  (366 pages – finished 1/31/11)

Eight books, 3734 pages.  Not bad.   Not enough if I really want to try to reach my reading goal this year, but not bad.

The Goodkind  book, Wizard’s First Rule, needs no introduction to anyone who is likely to read it or even think about reading it.  It is the series behind the TV series Legend of the Seeker.  I absolutely loved the book.  I have not read the next one in the series only because I don’t have a copy of it and haven’t gotten to the library.  It will probably be what I read after the book I am currently reading.

What can I say about The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo?  I had put off reading it through laziness, I guess. It was every bit as good as I had been led to believe it was.  I don’t yet own the other books in the series, but I will be looking to add them to my collection soon.

I found Across the Wire at Goodwill and bought it because it is an important topic.  It was an interesting book but did not really give me any new insight.  I have lived too much in Latin America to be surprised by anything he talked about.  It was,nonetheless, an interesting book.  I am glad I read it.

Dark Paradise was a fun read.  My daughter, who is an attorney, is trying to leave the profession and California behind, and Montana is one of the places she is looking at.  That made it even more interesting to me.  It was not, of course, a serious book in any way, but they don’t all have to be!

The Boleyn Inheritance was every bit as good as I expected, having read The Constant Princess last year.  It was very enjoyable to read and taught me a lot about a period of English history that I studied but have long since forgotten.

Shadowfever is the last in Moning’s Fever series. It came out on January 18, and I had it on the 20th.  As promised, it tied up the moose ends.  We know who and what the main character is.  But it seemed almost like Moning just wanted to be done with this series and move on.  Some of it doesn’t ring true.  I would rather she had written two books and made the parents’ reactions more believable, for instance.  There was also stuff that could have been left out without hurting the story at all. It was good, though, and if you start the series, you will want to finish it.

The Journey was a book by Peter Kreeft I had picked up somewhere a while back.  I picked it up and started reading it immediately after a chat with a student about faith and reason, and I couldn’t put it down.  I used others of Kreeft’s books when I taught at the seminary college, and I have always enjoyed his style.  He takes readers on a trip through different philosophical views, accompanies by Socrates, who helps him learn how to ask the right questions about each.  He lost me at the end of this book, though, because the final stage of the journey is deciding to accept Christ.  Since I am not a Christian, I found this part to be a little weak.  But  despite that, I learned things from the book.

The final book I read was A Firing Offense.  My husband recommended it, and I wanted an easy, engrossing book to finish off the month.  The story revolves around reporters who make some bad choices.  At the end, though, you like the protagonist and feel like he has come out OK.  I found it especially interesting in light of the current financial situation of newspapers and the current deplorable reporting of what passes as news.  The book was written in the late 1990s but seems like it describes situations today pretty well, too.

All in all, I don’t regret a single book I read.  You might want to give some of them a try.

Leave a Reply

