Wish I had said that!

John Spencer over at TeachPaperless had a great post yesterday. It is called Recovering Voice.

At one point he says:

…much of academia is designed not to cultivate a love of language, but a dissection of it.

That follows closely something I read this morning in Jane Smiley’s 13 Ways of Looking at the Novel:

Remember above all that readers outside of graduate school really do not care what is good for them (p244).

Sometimes I think it is a miracle that kids can do as well as they do.

I hated poetry because of my high school English teacher.  It took me 40 years to get past that.    I didn’t think I could write until I was past 50.  School had done more to tell me I was incompetent than to teach me to love words.  It is sad. The thing that saved me was my involvement with the Southeast Louisiana Writing Project. And I am forever grateful.

But back to the post…  All I can say is that I wish I had written John’s post!  It’s great!  Check it out.

Leave a Reply

