April Reading

This month I read seven books:

  1. Temple of the Winds by Terry Goodkind
  2. This is Not a Game by Walter Jon Williams
  3. Maisie Dobbs by Jacqueline WInspear
  4. Wonder’s Child: My Life in Science Fiction by Jack Williamson
  5. Blackout by Connie Willis
  6. The Guide to Writing Fantasy and Science Fiction by Philip Athans 
  7. The Colorado Kid by Stephen King

The Goodkind book was the fourth in the series.  I really liked the book, but I think I had read too many one right after the other to really enjoy it as much as I had the others.  For that reason, I have taken a break from these books — although I want to finish the series before too long.

This is Not a Game was one of the best books I have read in a long time.  I didn’t want to like it, but I was sucked in almost immediately and never looked back.  Williams is one of the authors who comes to the Jack Williamson Lectureship at Eastern New Mexico University.  Last year he read from this book, but we didn’t buy it for some reason or other.  This year he read from Deep State, which sounded good, and we bought both it and This is Not a Game.

A friend recommended Maisie Dobbs, and I am really glad she did.  It was a lovely book.It takes place in the 1920s, and Maisie is a detective of sorts.It offers insight into the status of women at the time – like the fact tat Maisie could attend Cambridge but could not receive a degree from the university.  This was the first book in a series, and I plan to read them all.

I bought the Williamson autobiography at the Williamson Lectureship this year, too.  I decided it was time to learn more about the man who inspired and funded these annual gatherings.  It was a really interesting book, offering insight into the area in which I live as well as letting me learn a lot about early science fiction.  Jack Williamson seems to have been a nice guy.  That’s what everyone I know who knew him has said, but it was nice to have information so I could make my own decision.

Connie Willis is another Williamson Lectureship regular.  Last year I heard her talk about her research for Blackout and the sequel All Clear.  This year I received Blackout as a gift, so I read it.  I have read others of Willis’ time travel books, and I have always loved them.  This one was slightly confusing for a time — but that is part of the point of the story, I think.  The main characters travel back to World War II England, only to have things go wrong.  I now need to go out and get All Clear to find out what happens to these young historians I have come to care for.  Blackout / All Clear were nominated for a Hugo this year, but the way.

The Guide to Writing Fantasy and Science Fiction was an important book for me to read.  As I wrote earlier, I have been able to determine exactly how to label the book my son and I have written after reading it.  I have gotten a lot of things to think about as we revise and edit from this book.  It was really helpful.

The last book I read was The Colorado Kid. I got addicted to Haven, which was based on the Stephen King book, so when I found it at my local Goodwill store, I had to buy it.  It was not all that much like the TV show, of course, but I can see the connection.  Anyway, I enjoyed the book.  It was an easy read — and one of the few Stephen King books I could bring myself to read.   (I am NOT into horror at all!)

I read almost 3000 pages this month.  Not bad.  But not enough to get me to my goal. I am not really worried about that, though.  And there is always next month!

Leave a Reply

