More on self-publishing

Bob Mayer had another great post about self-publishing, outlining what it takes to succeed.  As we work to improve our first novel, I find myself more and more thinking about all of this.  Bob has some great advice:

  1. Be consistent.
  2. Be positive.
  3. Slow down and do things right.
  4. Change when needed.
  5. Be disciplined. 
  6. Look forward and focus on the long term.

Of course, he discusses each of those points in more detail, but I direct you to his post if you want to read the whole thing.

I need to work on all those things, of course.  The discipline is coming, but I need to be much more diligent about it.  It is easy to find excuses as to why we didn’t start sending the book out to agents in February, when I wanted to.  But actually, the book wasn’t ready then.  It isn’t ready now.  But we are making progress.

At the same time, we are also working on developing a website for the books.  And we are working on the second book.  I think we are really trying to do things right.  And hopefully, we will be able to do that.

I love reading Bob’s blog, Write It Forward, because it offers me good advice from an author I really like.  His Area 51 books were the first ones my son and I read together and are, in a way, part of what led us to write our own book now.

Leave a Reply

