Becoming proficient, if not expert

I have been reading Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell.  I am finding it to be quite fascinating.  I knew about the 10,000 hours to become an expert, but a lot of the rest of it is new ideas for me.

And then today my son sent me some of his writing for our book.  And I was blown away!  His writing has grown so much in the year and a half, almost, that we have been working on the book.  I doubt that he has 10,000 hours in, but he has a lot more hours in on perfecting his craft than he did in February, 2010 when we started.

As I was incorporating his work into the chapters we are currently revising/rewriting, I couldn’t help but notice the changes in my writing, too.  Completing a novel of more than 85,000 words (Ours is over 90,000 at the moment, but I know we have to cut a lot of it!)

So yes, practice does make perfect — or at least a lot better!  It’s pretty cool!

Leave a Reply

