Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

A new OS

That’s a new operating system for those of you who don’t know.  And if you don’t know that, you will probably want to skip this post.

After about 7 months of using Fedora on both my laptops, I have returned to Linux Mint on one of them.  It wasn’t something I planned to do or really wanted to do, but an upgrade to Fedora 15 did strange things to this machine, the better of the two I have.  I already knew I wouldn’t  be able to run it on my Dell Mini 12, but I expected it to work well on my Toshiba Portege 705.  But it didn’t.  So I installed Linux Mint 11.  Everything works great!

The problem was mostly with Gnome 3 and my video card, not with Fedora itself.  But Fedora made the decision to go with Gnome 3, so I can’t hold them entirely blameless.  And yes, I know I could tweak it and used an older Gnome or KDE, but I decided that when an upgrade doesn’t work on my machine, it is time to switch to a different OS.  So I did.

It had been probably 3 years, at least, since I last used Mint.  I have to say I really like it,  And everything worked absolutely perfectly from the very beginning!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

