July is flying by!

I’ve been MIA this month.  Not sure why, really.  It isn’t that I’ve been doing much; I just haven’t been blogging.

I have been working on the book – finalizing changes to the first 5 chapters and sending new versions of later chapters to my son for his review.  We have finished the book – several drafts of it – and I hope we are nearing the end.  My goal was to complete it this summer and start the first round of contacting agents and publishers.  I don’t know if we will be ready to do that as soon as I would like, but we’re trying.

I have also been working on the second book, refreshing my memory on where it stands, changing things that needed changing after revising the first book.  We need to get it finished, too.  It stands at about 13,000 words right now.  I don’t think it will be as difficult as this first one has been.  At least I hope not!  My son and I have both learned so much about writing by writing this first one.  I hope at least some of that will carry over to the next book!

I have also been reading a lot — over 1000 pages so far this month.  The last two books have been chosen because not because of their redeeming social significance or even because I could somehow consider them research for our books. They were just to allow me to escape for a while!

I have also been worrying a lot about what is going to happen in the fall.  It keeps getting closer, and I am not real comfortable with my options.  There is still time, of course, but not much!

Anyway, I am going to try to be better at posting the rest of the month.  No promises, though!

Leave a Reply

