Why am I so surprised?

I should know by now that almost any writing practice is going to be helpful, but I am always surprised when I come back to regular practice after letting it slide for even a week.

That’s what happened to me yesterday and this morning.  I started with the exercise I wrote about before that I got from Kathleen Temean.  Actually, I only barely began it last night.  But I got down the major problems and then began to think about the smaller ones.  While I was able to identify a couple, I didn’t get too far before I gave up for the night.  This morning, though, it all kind of came together for me, and I wrote for quite a while about the many different layers of problems Katsuro, my protagonist, has.  I need to think about it some more and then go back and see how I can emphasize these problems a little more.  I don’t know that I want to introduce new problems at this late date, but I can draw more attention to the ones that are already there.

Writing practice is a lot like other good habits I practice from time to time.  When I pick them up again, I am always amazed that I ever let them go.  But somehow or other, I always seem to abandon them again after a time.

At any rate, I am back on the writing practice bandwagon, and I can’t wait to see how much it helps my writing!

Leave a Reply

