September Reading

I got a lot more read last month than I thought I would.  2605 pages by my count.  Here’s the list:

  1. Pegasus Descending by James Lee Burke
  2. Kill all the Lawyers by Paul Levine
  3. 61 Hours by Lee Child
  4. A Caress of Twilight by Laurel K. Hamilton
  5. Eight Days to Live by Iris Johansen
  6. This Vast Land by Stephen E. Ambrose
  7. The Writing Habit by David Huddle

I guess I’ll start at the bottom and work my way up.

The Writing Habit was another in a seemingly endless series of books about writing that I have purchased used and read.  This one was quite good.  Huddle doesn’t try to make writing out to be some mysterious process but rather talks about the need to develop a habit of writing — a habit that works for you.  He explains where and how he writes, but he is quick to point out that each writer is different, so their habits are going to be different.  It wasn’t a book that really jumped out at me, but it was a reminder of a lot of things I know about writing but tend to forget from time to time.

Stephen Ambrose’s This Vast Land was published after his death in 2002, but he actually wrote it as a young man.  That seemed evident as I read it.  It is a young adult historical novel written as a journal kept by the youngest member of the Lewis and Clark Expedition.  It is a good introduction to the topic. I have Undaunted Courage, his history of the Expedition, on my shelf but haven’t read it yet.  I want to do that before long.  Maybe once the semester is over.

I finished a description of the other books and published it — or tried to.  Computer malfunction left me with just this.  I’ll try to come back and reconstruct the rest of it in a day or two.  I’m too frustrated right now!

In case you were wondering, though, I liked all the books a lot!

Leave a Reply

