September Reading, part 2

To pick up where my computer left me off last time…

Pegasus Descending by James Lee Burke was an excellent book but one of the darkest Robichauex stories I’ve read.  And that is saying a lot!  My husband doesn’t read Burke anymore because of how dark they are.  I just like the characters and the stories.  And I am a darker person than my husband is, too.

Kill all the Lawyers by Paul Levine was fun.  I didn’t like it as much as I liked Solomon vs Lord, which I read a couple years ago.  But it was a good story, with lots of lawyers in it.

61 Hours was the first book I had read that was written just by Lee Child.  I have read some he wrote with Douglas Preston, but none that were his alone.  This was, then, the first Jack Reacher book I had read.  I like the character, a former MP who has no home and travels with nothing more than a toothbrush.  The story, which takes place during a snowstorm in South Dakota, was very good.  I have already read another Reacher novel, which I will talk about later, and plan to read more.

A Caress of Twilight by Laurel K. Hamilton is not an Anita Blake book, but I enjoyed it just the same.  It reminded me of Karen Moning’s books.  Of course, it was written before Moning wrote hers.

Eight Days to Live by Iris Johansen is an Eve Duncan book.  It had been years since I read one of these, and I found I liked it every bit as much as I always do.  Eve is a secondary character in this one, with her adopted daughter taking center stage.  Both women are interesting people to read about.

And I guess that’s it.  Sorry for these abbreviated reviews – even more abbreviated than usual.  I just know that if I don’t do it now, I’ll never get back to it.

Leave a Reply

