NaNoWriMo

Every year about this time I consider writing a novel in a month, just like many others do.  I always opt to do other writing though, claiming that I need to focus on “more important” things.  This year I have been thinking that I need to finally, once and for all, get Katsuro’s Quest finished.  I think, though, that I have talked myself out of that.  What I am currently planning on doing is completing the first draft of the second book in the series.  I have about 12,000 words written, but it has been sitting idle since June.  If I could finish a first draft of the approximately 85,000 novel, I would be ecstatic.

This is all, of course, subject to change.  I would like to really focus on writing during November, though.  How I do it and what I actually do are not as important to me as getting back into my writing.  I have largely abandoned it this semester because I have been so busy.

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo

  1. the reality of trying to finish a book in month is that you’ll be left with a project requiring a years worth of revisions.
    Not a bad thing, but if one is in the middle of something, this is just a 30 day distraction, that ends up like a barbie doll and no clothes

    1. I agree with you, I think. I know that I couldn’t really finish the second book in a month, but I want to do something to kind of force me back into writing. Maybe it is a bad idea to try anything special during November. But finding the internal push hasn’t been easy, and I thought maybe the hype of NaNoWriMo would help. We’ll see…

Leave a Reply

