October Reading

Well, November is nearly 1/3 over, and I I finally getting around to posting my October reading!  I have to do it quick because I have a ton more student essays to grade starting tomorrow!

Last month I read six books — not as many as I had hoped I would, but that’s life!  It was a total of 1966 pages, if my calculations are correct.

  1. The Sword-Edged Blonde by Alex Bledsoe
  2. Bad Luck and Trouble by Lee Child
  3. The Comforts of a Muddy Saturday by Alexander McCall Smith
  4. The Catcher Was a Spy by Nicholas Dawidoff
  5. The Right Attitude to Rain by Alexander MCall Smith
  6. Bitter Seeds by Ian Tregillis

I want to start with Bitter Seeds.  We bought this book at the Jack Williamson Lectureship back in April and it sat on the shelf until my husband pulled it down to read early in October.  He commented on how dark it was — something he has trouble with anymore.  His biggest complaint, really was that Ian is one of the funniest people we have ever met, and it seemed like a waste of that wonderful sense of humor.  He liked the book a lot, but he would have liked it more if it hadn’t been so dark.  When I sat down to read it, I could see what he was talking about, but it didn’t bother me nearly as much.  I really liked the book.  Ian Tregillis is a very good writer; his descriptions were wonderful even if what he was describing was a bit gruesome!  The sequel is due out next year.

The Alexander McCall Smith books were fun to read.  The Comforts of a Muddy Saturday and The Right Attitude to Rain are both Isabel Dalhousie novels.  I had trouble getting into this series because I love his No.1 Ladies Detective Agency books and Portuguese Irregular Verbs and the others in that series.  Somehow these books seemed a little less substantial.  As I have read more of them, though, I have come to appreciate them for their simplicity.  I like the little I learn about Scotland from reading them.  These books are all about people, and Smith does an excellent job of describing human idiosyncrasies.

The Catcher Was a Spy was something I picked up at the library book sale. I found myself really enjoying it.  It is the story of Moe Berg, an attorney who played professional baseball and, once he could no longer do that, worked as a spy during World War II.  He was quite a character, it seems.  It was a harder read than the novels I had been reading, but I enjoyed it a lot.

Bad Luck and Trouble was another Reacher novel by Lee Child.  I didn’t enjoy it as much as I had 61 hours, but I think it was just that everyone ended up dead.   It was a good story, though.

The Sword-Edged Blonde by Alex Bledsoe was a hoot!  It was a detective story set in a fantasy world.  It was great! I would like to read more stuff by Bledsoe.soe was a hoot!  It was a detective story set in a fantasy world.  It was great!

All in all, it was a good month for reading.  November is starting off slow.  We’ll see how it ends up!

Leave a Reply

