Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

November Reading

I can;t believe it is time to recount my month’s reading already.  The year is almost over, and I am nowhere near 100 book, and I am sure I am a long ways from 45,000 pages, too.  Oh well…

In November, I read six books:

  1. Ghosts of War by Ryan Smithson
  2. Long Quiet Highway by Natalie Goldberg
  3. The Sword of Bedwyr by R.A. Salvatore
  4. Venus Rain by Kirt Hickman
  5. Crusader’s Cross by James Lee Burke
  6. Mississippi Trial, 1955 by Chris Crowe (231 pages – finished 11/27/11)

It was a total of 1,773 pages.  Not bad, but not nearly enough to get me close to my goalOh well…

Ghosts of War was written by Ryan Smithson, a young man who went to Iraq and came home to write about it.  This was a good book.  It would make a perfect companion to the novel I had my students read this semester, Sunrise Over Fallujah by Walter Dean Myers.  Since most of them didn’t read that book, it would be foolish to ask them to read a second one, but it would be good.  Smithson’s writing is good.  My only concern about possibly using it with students is that his language is that of a young man in the military.  It isn’t bad, but it might offend some. 

I really thought I had read all of Natalie Goldberg’s books on writing, and then I found Long Quiet Highway.  It is a combination memoir and book on writing.  In that regard it reminded me of Stephen King’s book On Writing.  I really enjoyed this book because it took you deeper into the craft, the connection between writing and who we are.  I was interested to see how she combined her study of Buddhism and writing.  If you are interested in either, I would highly recommend this book.

The Sword of Bedwyr by R.A. Salvatore  was only the second book I have read by him.  I really enjoyed it.  It was an interesting story and not so complicated that my feeble mind got lost.  After reading this, I could see why my son had been trying for years to get me to read his stuff. This is part of a series that I hope to read all of.

Venus Rain is the second novel I have read by by Kirt Hickman.  He is a New Mexico writer that I have met at Bubonicon in Albuquerque.  His first was Worlds Asunder, and I remember liking it better than this one, but this one was good.  I think that the story could have been explained more.  I didn’t buy into the characters as much in this one.  There is going to be a third book in the series that I will buy once it is out.  I have a couple other books by Hickman that I haven’t read yet, but I will probably do that soon.  One is about writing and the other is fantasy. 

Crusader’s Cross by James Lee Burke.  What more is there to say?  This was dark — even for Burke.  It was a good story, though, and I am glad I read it.  It explained some things I had missed by reading the books out of order — like who Molly was before she married Dave.  I really like Burke’s books even if they are dark.

Mississippi Trial, 1955 by Chris Crowe was a book I picked up at school on a table where people leave free things.  It was about the Emmet Till murder.  It was a great young adult book.  I would recommend it to anyone who liked YA historical fiction.

That was it for November.  Not a lot of books or pages, but I had fun and learned some things along the way!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “November Reading

  1. Don’t feel down! My goal was 52 books this year and I’ll be lucky to break forty! You just have to keep reading. In the end that’s all that matters.

    • I agree completely. I’ve never met a reading goal yet, and I probably never will. And I really don’t care! The only reason I set then is to challenge myself to read different things or to approach my reading differently. And in that, they are successful.

      Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

