What to read…

As the year draws to a close, I know that I should be thinking about my reading goals for next year.  I usually have that decision made long before now, but this year somehow I haven’t been able to focus on it yet.

I don’t think I want to set a goal of a certain number of books.  I have done that for three years now and it seems like it is time to do something else.  I tried a page goal this year, too, but I don’t know that I like it any better than a book goal.

I am thinking about reading series this year — finishing off series I have started or reading all the books by certain authors or something like that.  Maybe just books by certain authors.  But I don’t know.

Any suggestions?

4 thoughts on “What to read…

  1. Ink Smith says:

    If you don’t mind fantasy…have you read the entire Kushiel series by Jacqueline Carey? (I’m sorry for butting in here, but I tend to want to foist this book on anyone who asks what books they should read).

  2. Jonathan Rogers says:

    If you haven’t read George R.R. Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire series then you are really missing out on the best modern fantasy writing. Lev Grossman’s The Magicians and The Magician King is also worth checking out. As for themes: I would go for different cultures. Read all Russian for a month, then all Latin. I think that would be a lot of fun to check out the world literature.

Leave a Reply

