January Reading

I can’t believe it is February already!  Wow!

My reading in January was not nearly what it has been in other years.  Last January I read eight books.  This year I only read three:

Fiction

  • Relic by Douglas Preston and Lee Child
  • The Queen’s Fool by Philippa Gregory

Non-fiction

  • Relativity: The Special and General Theory by Albert Einstein

Both current fiction books were by authors I have read before.  I enjoyed the books a lot.  I am not sure I liked Relic as much as I have liked others by Preston & Child, but I liked it.  The Gregory book was, as always, excellent.  I really liked the fact that this story was told from the point of view of an outsider rather than one of the main characters.

And while I can say that I read the Einstein book, I have to admit that I don’t think I followed it all.  I am amazed, though, by how much I really did understand.  Part of that may be because I have read other books about Einstein’s theories.  Each time I read his explanation about the moving train, I understand it a little better.  At the rate I am going, I may really have a handle on it by the time I am 90!

Since my goal is to read an equal number of current fiction, non-fiction and classics, you can see that I am already behind.  Part of it is due to the new job.  I went back to work on 1/3/12 rather than 1/12/12 as I would have if I were still at the university.

One thing that has come out of this month’s reading is a real desire to have an ebook reader.  I read the Einstein book on my laptop, and it worked, but it isn’t as convenient as a dedicated ebook reader would be.  Since I will probably read most of the nonfiction and classics as ebooks, that would really help.

Leave a Reply

