I read a little in February — Honest, I did!

Here we are 1/3 of the way through March, and I am just now getting around to sharing my February reading.  The list of books isn’t that long, so I don’t know why I have put it off.

My third piece of fiction this year,  I read Empress of Eternity by L.E. Modesitt, Jr.   The friend who loaned me the book told me it was a little hard to keep track of because it is three stories taking place in the same place at different “times”.  I really didn’t have any trouble with that, but it was a hard book to read in other ways.  I enjoyed the story, though.  I am not rushing out to read more by Modesitt, though.  I didn’t enjoy the book that much.

My second non-fiction book was At Home in the World: The Letters of Thomas Merton and Rosemary Radford Ruether edited by Mary Tardiff.  I was fascinated by it.  When I worked at the seminary college, I used some Merton books, and I always enjoyed them.  He was a fascinating person.  This book wouldn’t be for everyone, but I really liked it.

I also read Journey to the Center of the Earth by Jules Verne.  I can’t believe I had never read it before.  It was an easy read, and I enjoyed it a lot.  I am really glad that I decided to make an effort to read classics this year.  It will be fun!

Leave a Reply

