March Reading

Well, at least I read more than I wrote last month!

Fiction

Dragongirl by Todd J. McCaffrey

This was an excellent book.  I was sucked in immediately. I had read some of Anne    McCaffrey’s Pern books, but it was a long time ago.  I enjoyed this one immensely and now want to go back and read the whole series.

Oath of Fealty  by Elizabeth Moon

A friend loaned me this book and the McCaffrey one, and that is the reason I read this one.  At least that is the reason I started it.  I finished it because it was a great story.  My only complaint is that nothing seemed to be resolved at the end.  Of course, there are sequels to be read.

Non-fiction

Feudalism in Japan by Peter Duss

I read this book as research for the novels my son and I are still working on.  It gave me a lot of information to work with.  I discovered that we don’t have our history quite as close to accurate as we should.  We hadn’t really picked a specific time for the book, but I discovered that we had used details from too many different times.  The good news is that the book gave me plenty of information to work with to clear that all up.  This was an excellent little book.

Classics

Mansfield Park by Jane Austen

I watched the movie “The Jane Austen Book Club” and became intrigued by some of the books Austen wrote that I had never read.  This was the first one I tackled.  And I thoroughly enjoyed it!

The Time Machine by HG Wells

I don’t think I had ever read this book before,  but I had seen the old 1960 movie version with Rod Taylor.  The book was a quick read.  And I enjoyed it.  I got interested in reading Wells and Verne after reading A Place so Foreign by Cory Doctorow.  (That’s a great story, by the way!)

 

So now I have read 5 novels, 3 classics and 3 non-fiction books.  I am not where I should be with the classics and non-fiction, but I am getting there.  I am embarrassed, though, to admit that I have only read 11 books in 3 months!  Oh well…

Leave a Reply

