April Reading

In April I needed to escape.  So I read a lot of novels.

Kings of the North by Elizabeth Moon

This was the sequel to Oath of Fealty, which I read last month.  It was a great book if you like fantasy, which I do.  There is a third one out, and I would like to read it, too.  But the friend who loaned me the first two has moved away, so it will have to wait until I buy it — and I need to buy another book like I need a hole in my head!

Long Time Gone by J.A. Jance

Jance has been a favorite of mine for a long time.  This book did not disappoint me at all. I started reading her Joanna Brady books and then moved on to JP Beaumont. This was a Beaumont book.  He is an interesting guy and it was a good story.

Killer Dreams by Iris Johansen
On the Run by Iris Johansen

I enjoyed both these books tremendously.  Talk about escape reading!!  I began reading Johansen’s Eve Duncan books several years ago, and I have enjoyed the way she takes characters first introduced in those books and gives them their own stories in their own books.  These were perfect books to read when I had extra stress at work because I could get lost in the stories very easily.

Tripwire by Lee Child

Jack Reacher is an interesting guy who seems to get caught up in most unusual situations.  This book did not disappoint me at all.  The main plot had Jack looking for news of a Vietnam veteran to ease the minds of his elderly parents.  It was a great story.  Of course, nothing was easy for Jack, but in the end he was able to give the vet’s parents a little peace of mind.  It was a good read.

The South Pole by Roald Amundsen

Having read Shackleton’s South a few years ago, I was really interested to read of Amundson’s very different experiences on his own trip to the South Pole.  He made many favorable  references to Shackleton and to other explorers and seemed like a generally nice guy.  I had a little trouble with the built-in obsolescence of their dogs and the seeming lack of remorse they had when dogs were killed, but I can recognize that there was little alternative.  I enjoyed the book, on the whole.

So, as you may have noticed, I added 5 novels and one non-fiction book to my list last month.  I am now WAY behind on non-fiction and classics.  I am in the middle of reading three non-fiction books, but I can’t seem to finish any of them.  Maybe I need a good classic to get me reading more again.  It is, after all, May 9th and I haven’t finished even one book yet this month!

Leave a Reply

