Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

June Reading

I didn’t get a lot of reading done this month… Again.  Seems like a pattern, doesn’t it?

Nothing to Lose by Lee Child was another Reacher book.  I have to admit I didn’t enjoy it as much as the others I have read.  The story seemed a little weak.  It is the first time I have been disappointed by a book of Child’s.

Come On, People by Bill Cosby and Alvin F. Poussaint, M.D. was a book on the shelf in my classroom at work, so I pulled it down to look at one day when classes were cancelled.  I read at it slowly but finally finished it.  It was interesting.  I don’t feel competent to really comment on the message, as a white woman, but as someone working in corrections, it seemed to make a lot of sense.

Emma by Jane Austen was another read inspired by the movie The Jane Austen Book Club.  I had never read it before.  It was actually a lot of fun.  The characters were all quite engaging people, and the story was fun.  I am planning to read more of Austen’s novels because, so far at least, they have been great.

Oil! by Upton Sinclair was without a doubt the best book I read last month.  It took a long time to read, but it was worth it.  I kept having to remind myself that Sinclair wrote it back in 1927 because it addressed so many current issues — including greed, unions, and college athletics.  I have not seen the movie There Will Be Blood, which is loosely based on the book, and I probably never will because I loved the book so much.  I am definitely interested in reading more by Sinclair.  I read The Jungle in high school, but that it the only thing of his I had read prior to Oil!, so I have quite a few other books to choose from.

I am up to 12 “current” fiction books, 7 non-fiction and 6 classics.  I have a ways to go to balance those three lists.  Let’s see how I do in July.

And only 25 books in half a year?  I am ashamed!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “June Reading

  1. I’ve given up on the Reacher books now. The character just seems so self-satisfied – it started to get on my nerves.

Leave a Reply

