August Reading

I managed to read five books this month:

  • The Rift by Walter J. Williams
  • The Fourth Wall by Walter Jon Williams
  • The Autobiography of Mother Jones by Mother Jones
  • The Art of War by Sun Tzu
  • The Island of Doctor Moreau by HG Wells

The two books by Walter Jon Williams were wonderful.  The Rift is about an earthquake centered in southeastern Missouri.  Having lived in that area and further south along the Mississippi River, it was especially interesting.  The book has a huge cast of characters that took me a while to get into, but I came to know them all pretty well and to care about what happened to most of them.  The Fourth Wall is a fun read about Hollywood.  It includes his character Dagmar Shaw, of This is Not a Game and Deep State fame.

The Autobiography of Mother Jones was interesting to me primarily because of how little has changed since her day.  Or rather, how much it has reverted to the way it was back then, with the wealthy controlling everything.  It was definitely worth the time it took to read.

I read The Art of War primarily to get ideas for the book my son and I are still working on.  And I got some.  The question now is when we will actually get around to incorporating them into the book.  But at least we have the ideas now, so it is a step in the right direction.

I watched the 1996 movie version of The Island of Dr. Moreau a long time ago, but I have to admit I don’t remember much about it.  So reading the book was almost a new experience for me.  I enjoyed the book.  I just went back and watched a trailer for the movie and think that I probably wouldn’t like it nearly as much.  At least it didn’t make me want to rush out and watch it again!

I expect to be reading more classics and even possibly more non-fiction now because I finally bought an ereader.  I kept putting it off, waiting until I was 100% sure which one was best before making a decision.  I was given money for my birthday, though, and decided to take the plunge.  I got a Kobo Touch — primarily because I didn’t want to be so tied to either Barnes and Noble or Amazon.  I am really happy with it!  I only got it a week ago today, and I have read 2 books on it already!

Leave a Reply

